​5 Captivating Dystopian Series

Dystopian genre deals with the evils of the society like poverty, oppression, war. The dystopian world is often pictured in a devastating state, in urgent need of renovation. This genre is often to criticise the authoritarian tendencies of the society.

We present to you 5 dystopian novels that will make you question many ethics and principles that are knowingly or unknowingly followed around us.

5 Captivating Dystopian Series

1) The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins:

The first book in this series by the same name, The Hunger Games, was published in 2008. It was then followed by Catching Fire and Mocking Jay in the years 2009 and 2010 respectively.

Winning will make you famous.

Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the “Hunger Games”. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.


2) The Selection series by Kiera Cass

The first part of this five-book series was published in April 2012.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


3) Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

Published in the year 2012, Divergent, the first book in this trilogy garnered a lot of attention of the genre fans. The succeeding installments, Insurgent and Allegiant, released in the following subsequent years.

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.


4) The Giver Quartet series by Lois Lowry

The Giver, the first instalment of this series, was published in the year 1993.
The story is set in the fictional Community where uniqueness is shunned and only Sameness – there is no climate change, no variation in terrain, children are born through genetic engineering – colour blind, deaf, with no memory, no emotions – to eliminate pain and strife. Only a few, like the protagonist Jonas who aren’t colour blind, can perceive sounds, are bestowed with the memory of their world before Sameness. But what if this system isn’t working out any more?


5) The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner

The Maze Runner, first instalment in this series, was released in the year 2009.
If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.


Did we miss something in  this list? You’re most welcome so tell us in the comments section.

Happy Reading!